• Bruno Walter Auditorium at Lincoln Center (map)
  • 111 Amsterdam Avenue
  • New York, NY, 10023
  • United States


The New York Classical Players launch a new season of “Encounters” concerts that explore the rich holdings of American chamber music in the archival collections of The Lincoln Center's Library for the Performing Arts. Each born in the first decade of the twentieth century, Aaron Copland and Samuel Barber matured as composers, while our country endured two world wars and the Depression. Join us for an afternoon of archival display, friendly, informative conversation, plus performances of music that soothed a war weary nation: Samuel Barber’s cello sonata, and Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring Suite for thirteen instruments.

A. Copland / Copland Sextet for Strings, Clarinet and Piano
S. Barber Cello Sonata
A. Copland / Appalachian Spring



The Library for the Performing Arts is proud to offer free admission to this program on a first come, first served basis. Admission lines form 1:30pm.  At that time one ticket is provided per person. Tickets are not available for advance reservation and saving seats is not permitted. General admission seating. Call 212.642.0142 for more detailed information. All programs are subject to last minute change or cancellation.