• Bruno Walter Auditorium at Lincoln Center (map)
  • 111 Amsterdam Avenue
  • New York, NY, 10023
  • United States



The New York Classical Players and The Lincoln Center's Library for the Performing Arts launch a new series of engaging “Encounters” concerts, celebrating the deeply spiritual, rustic, and brilliantly constructed music of Johannes Brahms. The Library proudly holds manuscripts of several Brahms’ masterworks, including his 1877 transcription for piano left hand of J. S. Bach’s monumental Chaconne in D minor.  Enjoy an up-close viewing of Brahms’ masterful pen strokes. Hear impassioned, dynamic performances of Bach’s Chaconne from the Partita for Violin No. 2, followed by Brahms’ inventive, 19th century transcription. Participate in an illuminating conversation with the performers, followed by an exhilarating reading of Brahms’ Piano Trio in B Major.

J. Brahms / Chaconne for Piano in D minor (maunscript on display) 
J. S. Bach / Chaconne for Violin Solo, Partita No. 2 BWV 1004
J. Brahms / Piano Trio No. 1, in B major, Op. 8


The Library for the Performing Arts is proud to offer free admission to this program on a first come, first served basis. Admission lines form 1:30pm.  At that time one ticket is provided per person. Tickets are not available for advance reservation and saving seats is not permitted. General admission seating. Call 212.642.0142 for more detailed information. All programs are subject to last minute change or cancellation.