• College of Mount Saint Vincent (map)
  • 6301 Riverdale Avenue
  • Bronx, NY, 10471
  • United States

Concert Cycle 2

Dongmin Kim, conductor
Pamela Frank, violin
Peter Wiley, cello

A triad of great musical minds are showcased in this program with works by Brahms, Schoenberg, and Webern. Schoenberg famously paid homage to Brahms as a "great innovator" in his creative abilities and musical genius and in Verklärte Nacht, one hears echoes of Brahms’ formalism and rich lyricism that gives way to Schoenberg’s radical harmonies.  Acclaimed violinist Pamela Frank and cellist Peter Wiley - both celebrated soloists and collaborators -join the ensemble for Brahms’ remarkable Double Concerto. Composed as a homework assignment for his tutor, Schoenberg, Webern’s Langsamer Satz is a subtle yet powerfully intense example of the young composer’s originality.

Anton Webern / Langsamer Satz
Johannes Brahms / Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op. 102 (arr. Yoomi Paick)
Arnold Schoenberg / Verklärte Nacht, Op. 4

*This program is made possible with support from Main Violin.