• Bruno Walter Auditorium (map)
  • 111 Amsterdam Avenue
  • New York, NY, 10023
  • United States

Chamber Music Series 5

TBD, violin
TBD, violin
Cong Wu, viola
Michael Katz, cello

New York Classical Players performs Benjamin Britten's String Quartet No. 1, written while Britten was living in New York at the beginning of World War II, paired with recitations of poetry and correspondence from the New York Public Library's W.H. Auden archive, followed by a performance of Dimitri Shostakovitch's tragic war memorial, string quartet no. 8.

BRITTEN / String Quartet No. 1 in D major, Op. 25
SHOSTAKOVICH / Quartet No. 8 in C minor, Op. 110


The Library for the Performing Arts is proud to offer free admission to this program on a first come, first served basis. Admission lines form one hour prior to the concert. At that time one ticket is provided per person. Tickets are not available for advance reservation and saving seats is not permitted. General admission seating. Call 212.642.0142 for more detailed information. All programs are subject to last minute change or cancellation.