• Bruno Walter Auditorium at Linclon Center (map)
  • 111 Amsterdam Avenue
  • New York, NY, 10023
  • United States

Chamber Music Series 1

Sujin Lee, cello
Julian Langford, cello
Julian Schwarz, cello

Sonic soliloquies of dance, Johann Sebastian Bach’s suites for cello conjure a universe of emotions with a single leaping, sweeping, reaching voice. In wedding chapels, at memorial monuments, on grand stages, and within the solitary studios of practicing musicians, the suites capture the personal and the universal.  Sujin Lee, Julian Langford, and Julian Schwarz, three brilliant cellists of The New York Classical players, perform Bach’s first, fifth, and sixth suites, before a screening of performance and rehearsal footage of Jerome Robbin’s Bach suite ballet Suite of Dances, first performed by Mikhail Baryshnikov.

Johann Sebastian Bach / Suite No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007
Johann Sebastian Bach / Suite No. 5 in C minor, BWV 1011
Johann Sebastian Bach / Suite No. 6 in D major, BWV 1012

Screen Shot 2018-10-01 at 1.03.54 PM.png

The Library for the Performing Arts is proud to offer free admission to this program on a first come, first served basis. Admission lines form one hour prior to the concert. At that time one ticket is provided per person. Tickets are not available for advance reservation and saving seats is not permitted. General admission seating. Call 212.642.0142 for more detailed information. All programs are subject to last minute change or cancellation.